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Put Your Air Mask on First
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Being responsible for other people always caries a level of dif-
ficulty. And we all know that caring for multiple screaming Core Compe-
children can be stressful. Licensing wants to remind you to tency transition
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Core Competency Transition

Effective July 1, 2016, Minnesota’s Knowledge and Competency Framework (KCF) will
replace Minnesota’s Core Competency areas. There are three versions of the KCF including
one that is specific to family child care providers.

Under the new KCF; courses in content area 1 will meet the requirements for child growth
and development training; and courses in content area 2c¢ will meet the requirements for be-
havior guidance AND child growth and development.

This means that if someone takes a course in content area 2c, they will have completed both
child growth and development and behavior guidance training. If someone takes a course in
content area 1 they will have only completed the child growth and development training and
will need to take an additional course in content area 2c to meet the behavioral guidance
training requirement.

Also effective July 1, 2016, information that is maintained in Develop regarding training that
was completed previously will convert from the former core competency areas to the new
KCF. This means that when you are looking for training that was completed prior to July 1,
2016, you will look for training from KCF 1 (previously core competency 1) to meet child
growth and development training and from KCF 2c (previously core competency 4) to meet
behavior guidance AND child growth and development. (This means that if a transcript
shows a course in KCF 2c was completed, the person has met the requirements for both
child growth and development AND behavior guidance training.)



What does that
Mean?!

When we provide
information about
substitutes, helpers
and assistant care-
givers, we often use
the term “regularly”
or “on a regular ba-
sis.” But what does
that really mean?
We can look to the
rule for the answer!
In the definitions sec-
tion of MN Rule
9502, “regularly” or
“regular basis” is de-
fined as a cumulative
total of more than

30 days within any
12 month period.

With this definition in
mind, we can figure
out how many train-
ing hours helpers
and other caregivers
are required to take.
A helper who assists
on a regular basis
needs 6 hours of
training per year.

Curious to know
more definitions?
9502.0315 has 31
definitions of terms
commonly used in

child care licensing
such as “caregiver”,
“child”, “related” and
“supervision.”
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What does that Mean?! (Part Il)

Section 11 of the Child Care licensing Application is
the Applicant acknowledgement of public funding re-
imbursement for licensed services. Since you are
licensed for family child care, this section is asking
you to acknowledge if you receive public funding re-
imbursement for any of the daycare services you
provide.

Public funding reimbursement includes: Child Care
Assistance AND/OR Food Program participation.

IF you serve families that receive Child Care As-

sistance OR you are currently participating in a food

program then it is correct to check box #2 that states
you DO ELECT to receive public funding.



Annual Training Requirements

Now that all of the new training requirements are in effect, please
remember that the required training topics need to be taken annu-
ally. Statute defines annually as ‘prior to or within the same
month of the subsequent calendar year.” This means, to be
in compliance, you will need to track when you take the trainings
to know when they need to be taken again before annual expira-
tion. See below:

Training Date completed On time if taken by: Late :
SUID 5/1/16 5/3117 6/1/17
AHT 5/15/16 5/31/17 6/1/17
Supervision 4/12/16 4/30/17 5/1/17

CPR 12/2/14 12/29/16 1117



Playing Catch-Up

Are you behind in the required training hours? Have you
received a correction order because of missing training
hours last year?

If so, you will need to catch up with ALL training hours, which
may mean that you will take the required classes two times in
one year. Also, taking the course does not reset your training
time lines. For example:

Gertie received a correction order because she had last taken
SUID/AHT and active supervision in May of 2014. After re-
ceiving her correction order, Gertie signed up to attend both
classes in October of 2016. She submitted her training cer-
tificates to her licensor as proof and believed she did not
need to take either class again until 10/31/17. Her licensor
contacted her because the violations had not been corrected.
The licensor explained that the trainings she completed in
October of 2016 fulfilled the training requirements for 2015.
She would still need to complete SUID/AHT (videos) and ac-
tive supervision for 2016 in order for the violation to be cor-
rected. Also, even though Gertie completed her training in
October of 2016, her timelines did not change. Therefore,
she would need to complete both trainings a third time by
5/31/2017.

If you have questions regarding missed training hours, please
contact your licensor.

Training

Requirements

Effective 7/1/15, All providers
are required to complete 16
hours of training every year,
which includes the following

required trainings.

SUID: annually, video op-
tion every other year

AHT: Annually, video option
every other year

Active Supervision: Yearly

Child Growth and Develop-
ment & Behavior Guidance:
Yearly

CPR: Every 2 years
First Aid: Every 2 years

You cannot count CPR &
First Aid training hours on
off years, even though they
are good for 2 years.




Photo Caption

When a correction order is issued

A correction order may be issued when any rule or statute
violation occurs. The correction order will specify for each
violation:

¢+ The condition that constituted a violation of law or rule
+ The specific statute or rule number violated
+ Time allowed to correct each violation

¢ The time limit for providers to respond and provide evi-
dence of compliance with correction order

Correction orders must be posted upon receipt in a place that
is conspicuous to the people receiving services and all visi-
tors to the facility for two years, regardless of whether or not a
provider request reconsideration of the correction order. If
the license holder believes the contents of the correction or-
der are in error, they may ask DHS to reconsider the parts
that are alleged to be in error.

A request for reconsideration does not stay any provisions or
requirements of the correction order. That means that the
rule or violation must be corrected within the time limited not-
ed on the correction order.

Correction Orders

As we all know, there have
been increased rules, regu-
lations and a push for con-
sistency and equality
among all licensing regula-
tions-this could lead to
more correction orders be-
ing issued. Following rules
and statues is one of the
ways to keep children as
safe as possible. We want
to remind you that correc-
tion orders are a common
part of being a provider. It
is OK to get a correction
order!! If you think about
it, there are over 500 parts
of the rules and statutes
that you are required to fol-
low. 500!!! It is under-
standable that some things
might get missed. The
good thing about turning in
and posting correction or-
ders is that you have an op-
portunity to document how
you made the change(s) to
come into compliance. Re-
member if you receive a
correction order and be-
lieve it is in error, you may
request reconsideration.




Changes to Eager-to-Learn

Effective January 1, 2016, any training that
family child care providers take via Eager-to-
Learn online classes will NOT be provided
with a paper training certificate. All Eager-to-
Learn (ETL) training completed will be rec-
orded in Develop. If you have not already
done so, you can sign up/register for a user
account a the following address:

http://www.developtoolmn.org/

Instead of receiving an emailed PDF certifi-
cate after completing an ETL training, a pro-
vider’s learning record will be updated within
three business days of the training comple-
tion.

To access your training record:

+ To the development website and log into
your account

Under “My Individual Profile” you will see
“Application Report” on the right hand
side

The Eager-to-Learn trainings are designated
on the Learning Records with a sponsor of
“Child Care Aware of Minnesota: ETL Dis-
trict,” Providers will be able to print out their
Learning Record to provide verification of
training to licensors at relicensing visits.

For more information about the changes with
Eager-to-Learn, please contact the support
team at MNCPD:

Email: support@mncpd.org
Toll free: 855-378-3131

Upcoming Trainings

CARS: 6-9pm BEC Gov. center

10/18/16, 12/13/16, 2/7/17, 4/4/17,

6/6/17, 8/8/17, 10/3/17, 12/5/17

SUID/AHT: 7-9pm BEC Gov. center

10/11/16, 2/21/17, 6/13/17, 10/10/17

Active supervision: 7-9pm Gov Center

12/15/16, 4/11/17, 8/15/17, 12/12/17

Mandated Reporter: 6:30-8pm Gov Cen

11/2/16, 5/24/17

Please call/email Michelle at 507-304-
4273 or
michelle.lechner@blueearthcountymn.g
ov to register




Center for Inclusive Child Care

The Center for Inclusive Child Care (CICC) is a resource for providers that have
children with special needs in their care. The children’s needs may be developmen-
tal, physical, or behavioral. A majority of the referrals they receive are for children
who are displaying challenging behaviors yet providers and programs want to make
attempts to keep the child enrolled. The Center for Inclusive Child Care offers a
free “Inclusive Consultation” to help identify areas that you can learn more about
and also can connect you with local resources.

How do | tell a parent | have concerns about their child?

It can be very difficult for parents to hear concerns about their child’s development
or behavior. Communicate to the parents that you really do care about their child
and try to arrange a time to talk with them when children will not be present.

Use a “positive sandwich” approach by sharing with the child’s parents an example
of a positive quality you have observed in their child, a positive interaction you have
observed or had with their child or something you really like about their child. Then
share with them specific examples of development and/or behavioral concerns and
how this impacts the child while in your care.

It is important to share specific examples of the strategies that you have tried to help
the child be successful in your child care environment. Remember to give them
some time to process and respond to the information that you share with them. Fol-
low the sharing of your concerns by again sharing something positive about their
child and reiterate that their child’s success is important to you.

http://wwwinclusivechildcare.org/pdf/Childcare_Consultation_and_Supports_Services_Flyer11.pdff




Outdoor Activities in Winter

The winter months will be arriving soon whether we like it or not! As
you probably already know, child care providers should take children
outside daily, weather permitting. You may use the weather guide be-
low in determining if it is safe to play outside or if you should stay bun-
dled up inside.

Wind-Chill Factor Chart (in Fahrenheit)
Wind Speed in mph

Air Temperature

Comfortable for out door
play

Caution




I’'m Closing!

We don’t want you to, but there are things you should do if you are planning on no
longer being a licensed child care provider. If you have begun a job outside the
home during child care hours and do not have a co-applicant on your license, you
should close your license. If you have moved to another county, you must close
your license in Blue Earth County. If you do not have any children in care and are
not planning on enrolling anymore you should close your license. According to
Rule 9502.0315, subpart 24, the definition of a provider is “the license holder and
primary caregiver, “ so if you no longer that person, you need to close your li-
cense.

There are many different way to notify us that you are closing. You can email your
intention, with a date of closure. You can call your licensing worker. You can
send a letter with your license notifying us of your intent to close.. Please remem-
ber that when you decide to close your license, you must mail that license to us at
the Blue Earth County Government Center.

Contact Us

Give us a call or email us if you have any questions regarding this newsletter.

Anne Broskoff-Supervisor (507)304-4459 Anne.broskoff@blueearthcountymn.gov

Michelle Lechner-Case aide (507)304-4273 michelle.lechner@blueearthcountymn.gov

Carole Anderson-Licensor (507)304-4175 carole.anderson@blueearthcountymn.gov

Joanna Petersen-Licensor (507)304-4167 Joanna.petersen@blueearthcountymn.gov

Holly Holland-Licensor (507)304-4475 holly.holland@blueearthcountymn.gov
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Pediatric Therapy Services, Inc. Phone: 507-388-KIDS (5437) | Fax: 507-388-2108
Making a difference . . . one child at a time. www kidtherapy.com | Email: ptskids@kidtherapy.com

Sensory Integration

When: Tuesday, October 25t 2016
6:00pm-7:30pm

Where:
Pediatric Therapy Services
150 St. Andrews Ct. Suite 310
Mankato, MN 56001

Cost: FREE

What:
This is an educational class designed to gain understanding of:

» How children process sensory information
« The 5 most common challenges that arise with sensory integration
« Different sensory strategies to use with your child

Who:
Family members, professionals, or caregivers of infants and young children

How:
Sign up no later than October 18, 2016
Phone: (507)388.5437
Email: piskids@kidtherapy.com
(registration limited to the first 20 people)
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Torticollis and Plagiocephaly

What is it, and what's to be done about it?

When:
Tuesday, November 15t 2016
6:00 p.m. -7:00 p.m.

Where:
Pediatric Therapy Services
150 St. Andrews Ct. Suite 310
Mankato, MN 56001

Cost: FREE

What:
This is an educational class designed to gain understanding of:
o Understand brief etiology of Torticollis/Plagiocephaly
o Recognize symptom onset of Torticollis
« Administer positional adaptations to prevent further deformity
e Know when to refer a child to his/her healthcare provider
e Understand the importance of early intervention

Who:

Family members, professionals, or caregivers of infants and young children

How:
To sigh up, please call or e-mail:
Phone: (507)388.5437
Email: piskids@kidtherapy.com
(registration limited to the first 20 people)
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Enhancing Language Through Play

When:
Monday, November 7t 2016  6:00 -7:30 pm

Where:
Pediatric Therapy Services
150 St. Andrews Ct. Suite 310
Mankato, MN 56001

Cost: FREE

What:
This is an educational class desighed to gain understanding of:

. Typical language development in young children
. Language enhancing strategies
. How to elicit language through play

Who:
Family members, professionals, or caregivers of infants and young children

How:
To sigh up, please call or email:
Phone: (507)388.5437
Email: piskids@kidtherapy.com
(Registration limited to the first 20 people)




