Fireworks Permits Minimal Requirements

Listed below are some of the requirements for obtaining a fireworks permit in Blue
Earth County.

* The operator must be at least 21 years of age and be a licensed pyrotechnic.

* The application must be submitted at least 15 days prior to the event.

* State law prohibits private individuals from sponsoring fireworks displays.
Examples of organizations that ARE eligible would be: a city, fair association, or
public or private organizations.

" You must submit to the County:

Completed application

$25.00 permit fee

Map of the grounds where the fireworks will be displayed

A $1,000,000 certificate of Insurance — can be faxed to me at

507-304-4344
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Note: Once the above has been submitted, the County will obtain the Sheriff’s approval.

Please contact Jessica Anderson with questions:
507.304.4284

or

jessie.anderson@blueearthcountymn.gov

or

County Administration

PO BOX 8608

Mankato, MN 56002-8608




Minnesota Fireworks Laws

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

Specifically
Permitted

Specifically
Prohibited

Selling
Period

Age of
Purchase

Wire or wood sparklers of not more than 100 grams of pyrotechnic
composition per item. Ground-based sparkling devices which are non-
explosive and non aerial, and contain 75 grams or less of chemical
mixture per tube or a total of 200 grams or less for multiple tube items
and include: fountains, cones, illuminating torches, wheels, ground
spinners, flitter sparklers, flash / strobes, and novelty devices including
snakes, glow worms, trick noisemakers, party poppers, and snappers.

Firecrackers, torpedoes, missiles, skyrockets, bottle rockets, roman
candles, daygo bombs, mines and shells, chasers, and parachutes.

No restrictions on time of year for sale, possession, or use,

18 years

DISPLAY FIREWORKS

Display
Permit

Insurance

Operator

Apply to municipal clerk in the municipality where the display will take
place at least 15 days before date of display or county auditor if display
will take place outside a city.

Required, in amount deemed adequate by fire chief.

Must be state certified by written exam from State Fire Marshal and
proof of experience.

MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION

State and local permits required to manufacture,

SALE, POSESSION AND USE OF FIREWORKS

Prohibited except as otherwise provided in Sec. 624.20 to 624.25.



ENFORCING AUTHORITY

State of Minnesota
Department of Public Safety
Division of State Fire Marshal
444 Cedar Street

St. Paul, MN 55101
651-215-0500
www.fire.state.mn.us

LAW NUMBER

MN Statutes 624.20 et seq.
2003 MN State Fire Code, Chapter 33



STATE OF MINNESOTA )

)ss FIREWORKS PERMIT APPLICATION
COUNTY OF BLUE EARTH) $25.00 Fee

In Conformity with Section 624.22 MSA,

(Organization/Group) does hereby apply for a permit for public fireworks display to be held at

location in Blue Earth County on

Between the times of and

Name of Operator Age Certification Number

Number of Assistants Ages Certification Numbers

Approximate Number, Class and Size of Fireworks to be discharged
It is understood that if because of inclement weather on the above date, applicant may use this permit on

. Please attach to this application a diagram of the grounds;

Certificate of Insurance ($1,000,000.) and $25.00 Permit Fee. Return to:

County Administration Attn: Jessica Anderson, P.O. Box 8608, Mankato, MN 56002-8608.

Signature of Applicant Date

Address of Applicant Phone Number

Approved by:

Robert W Meyer, County Administrator

In my opinion, the applicant is competent and the display as planned will conform to safety requirements. The
above application for permit is hereby granted. Dated at Mankato, Minnesota,
this day of , 20

Brad Peterson, Sheriff
Blue Earth County



