Effectively and Efficiently Delivering Essential Services

Go To Search
Click to Home

About Us
About Blue Earth County
Nestled in the heart of the Minnesota River Valley in the south-central part of the state, Blue Earth County encompasses 764 square miles of several lakes, rivers, streams, and rich agricultural land. The County has 368-miles of rivers and is beautifully landscaped with wooded bluffs and is known for its many parks, trails, and campgrounds.

Living Here
Blue Earth County is home to 11 cities and 23 townships and serves as a regional hub, particularly in its County seat of Mankato for retail, education, healthcare, manufacturing, tourism, and government services. Agriculture has always been and remains today a principal industry for areas throughout the County. Blue Earth County remains a top hog producer in the state along with producing high yields of corn and soybeans.

The Organization
The County was established in 1853, five years before Minnesota became a state, and continues to thrive with an estimated population in the 2010 census of 64,013. Blue Earth County is governed by a five-member Board of Commissioners, with each member representing a geographical district of the County. The County Attorney and Sheriff positions are also both elected.

The County Administrator (appointed by the Board of Commissioners) oversees operations and finances of the County, working closely with department heads and staff from all 14 of the County’s departments.

Blue Earth County strives to progressively accomplish its mission of effectively and efficiently delivering essential services.

General Questions & Comments

Public Information Office 
Blue Earth County Historic Courthouse
204 S. Fifth St.
Mankato, MN 56001

Ph: (507) 304-4491

County Elected Officials and Staff